The CASE District III Distinguished Service Award honors persons with exemplary professional service to CASE and District III, including active involvement in the advancement profession for a minimum of 10 years; professional employment with CASE District III member institutions for at least eight years; regular attendance at CASE District III meetings; volunteer service to CASE sponsored conferences, programs and activities; and outstanding achievement in the total spectrum of endeavors represented by CASE’s objectives for the advancement profession. Current CASE District III officers and board members are excluded from consideration.


Nominations, which must be made by a member of the CASE District III board of directors, must include a summary of accomplishments for each nominee. The CASE District III chair will appoint a Distinguished Service Award committee to review the applicants and select a recipient in October. The recipient will be recognized and honored at the upcoming CASE District III conference.


If you have questions, please contact Kris Phillips at865-599-5898 or


2017       Dave Roberts, The University of Tennessee System, Tennessee

2016       Matt Winston, Virginia Tech, Virginia

2015      Mary Kay Murphy, Morehouse School of Medicine, Georgia

2014      Marion B. Peavey, Wofford College, South Carolina

2013      Julian M. Bivins, Jr, University of Virginia, Virginia

2009      Laney Funderburk, Duke University, North Carolina

2008      Joan A. Bahner, Fisk University, Tennessee

2007      Frank Bush, Coker College, South Carolina

2006      Lofton Stuart, University of Tennessee, Tennessee